When There is No Dentist, Part Three of Three

Our homemade tooth powder

If you haven’t already done so, read part one of this series here, and part two here. This post is a summary of the tooth infection story and what worked for us.

Silver Oak has had only minor tooth decay the past 20 years, but in his younger years he had many large fillings, especially in his molars. I have no doubt the changes we made in our diet and lifestyle during the first years of our marriage have played a major role in that. Many of us have learned things about diet in recent years we never knew before.

Dr. Weston Price spent a large part of his life as a dentist studying the diet of people groups all over the world and the resulting impact on teeth and overall health. His studies have greatly influenced many and we are so grateful for what he had to share. Since studying some of his writings about making a healthy environment in our mouths to promote healthy teeth and bodies, we made more changes.

Now we rarely use toothpaste, which in some ways discourages healthy teeth. We make a tooth powder, which we place on our palm and scoop up with a wet toothbrush. The powder is two parts baking soda to one part salt. Baking soda helps give our mouths a healthy ph level and salt is a natural antiseptic.

After flossing and brushing with powder, we use Spry from the health food store to rinse out our mouths.  It contains xylitol, which fights cavities and freshens our breath since the powder is not exactly delicious smelling. I would love ideas for a more sustainable and healthy mouth rinse that is good tasting, so tell me your ideas.

Flossers take the pain out of flossing. I now effectively floss in a few minutes, where using string floss used to be so laborious I rarely did it. Flossing helps remove the beginnings of plaque build-up and decaying food that may be stuck between teeth.

If we can keep any plaque from beginning to form and keep a healthy ph level in our mouths through proper cleaning and diet, the likelihood of developing cavities is greatly diminished. When any colonies of plaque-forming bacteria are allowed to reside in our mouths they can build deposits of plaque which makes a safe haven for them to multiply. Then, especially during the night when bacteria fighting saliva is not being secreted, they have a hayday in our mouths.

Doug Simons teaches how to brush teeth with a stick, either a flat type toothpick from the store, or crafting them yourself with certain kinds of wood. He says they get cleaner than with a toothbrush and floss, and feel smooth and polished all the time. We have yet to try that, so I will let you know when that happens. But if sustainable is what we’re after, this idea fits the bill.

Silver Oak’s recent tooth infection taught us many things. We’ve made a plan in case we face something like this again.

At first hint of toothache:

  • Ask the Great Healer for help
  • Bite on whole clove with affected tooth
  • Oil pulling with 1 tsp coconut oil & essential oils
  • Refrain from sugars (they feed bad bacteria)
  • Clean teeth well with tooth powder and floss (or stick)

If it appears to be an infection continue the above and add:

  • Prickly pear wedge or poultice, depending on severity
  • Tooth packing with crushed fresh garlic and cayenne powder
  • 2 oz Ionic silver 3x per day
  • Suppliments of garlic & Vitamin C several times per day

Hopefully we will continue with these steps until two days after symptoms are gone!

Silve Oak missed three days of work, making this ordeal an expensive endeavor, but so would being treated by a dentist. Then he would have missed work AND had a big bill and drugs to take. And we wouldn’t have gained the experience and confidence in dealing with this problem ourselves, which could be fatal in the event there would be no dentist available.

Horsetail (Equisetum Hyemale)

There is one thing we still need to address. As Silver Oak has gotten older some of his teeth with the large fillings have started to break. The recently infected tooth needs a new layer of enamel covering the broken part as the natural barrier against infection that teeth normally have. Dentists say that will never happen. Doug Simmons and Weston Price have said differently.

At Doug Simmons’ advice we just purchased a horsetail plant (Equisetum Hyemale) for $4 and hope to grow enough to use as a supplement to aid in healing that tooth and strengthening the enamel on all of our teeth to prevent cavities or heal any that may appear. Varieties of this herb grow wild in many places around the world, and it propagates easily. It contains the highest amount of silica available in plant form, and silica is what it takes to grow new enamel (as well as healthy bones, nails, hair, and ligaments).  We hope to see how it works.

Blessings,

When There is No Dentist, Part Two of Three

When There is No Dentist, Part One of Three

Disclaimer:  This website is for educational purposes only.  It is not intended to replace licensed, professional health care or dental providers.  The author and Live Ready Now! disclaim any liability in connection with the use of this information.

Linked w/Morris Tribe, Natural Living Mama, Chicken Chick, Growing Home, Backyard Farming Connection, Frugally Sustainable, My Simple Country Living, Natural Living, Homemaking, Live Renewed, A Rural Journal, Simple Lives Thur., LHITS DYI Linky, Farm Girl Fri. Fest, Farmgirl Fri., Ole’ Sat. Homesteading Trading Post, and Seasonal Celebration.

 

34 thoughts on “When There is No Dentist, Part Three of Three

  1. When there is no dentist, this can lead to numerous problems regarding dental health. Dentists are there to ensure that we are having good dental health. However there are things that we can do that can actually help us just in case our dentists are not present. Thanks for this very helpful insight!

    Like

    • Doug Simons dries the green stems and grinds them into powder, using a little electric coffee bean grinder. He says you can also eat them fresh, but so far the stems we’ve tried have been too woody and fibrous. Using it as a tea is not as effective. He recommends 1 heaping ts (half dose for children) mixed in a little water or juice each day for 6-10 days in a row each month for building healthy teeth. If there is a problem that needs more than that, do it 6-10 days, then take a break for several days. If it is used continuously it will lose effectiveness. I can”t say any of this from experience yet, but this is what he teaches.

      Like

  2. I share Jeanette’s question. I am trying to avoid some fillings – and have been using oil pulling and bone broth to try and re-mineralize my teeth . . . but definitely need to strengthen the enamel as well. How do you use it and where did you purchase it?

    Like

    • I shared more details in answer to Jeanette’s question. Hopefully that helps. I found the plant at a local native plants nursery after calling around a bit. Mineral rich bone broth is a good idea too!

      Another idea which was just shared with me is using food grade Diatomaceaus Earth, which contains a large amount of silica. We use DE for many things, including insect control, gardening, food storage, and parasites. It never dawned on me that this would be another option, but if the silica is able to be asimilated, and I’m assuming it is, this could be another possibility.

      Hope you can avoid those fillings! 🙂

      Like

  3. Hi, I just wanted to mention to you and your readers that diatomaceous earth is a good source for silica. I take 1 teaspoon of DE in a small glass of water every morning, but I have learned that others take as much as 3 tablespoons daily. Most start at the lower dose and if all is well after a week gradually increase the dose. Users recommend increasing water intake as it can be dehydrating. Diatomaceous earth is said to have many benefits for humans and pets, as well as being good for pest control. There is a lot of information about DE online if you or your readers are interested in finding out more about it. Blessings, Lori

    Like

  4. Rose Petal,

    This series has been FASCINATING!! Thanks again for sharing such useful information. I’m so glad you link up to our Barn Hop every week 🙂

    I’ve been having some pain in a molar I had filled as a child, and I just know the filling has come out. I do not want to go to the dentist, and have pondered how to treat it naturally. I know the Creator made us with the ability to heal ourselves if we just did the right things, and I figure our teeth can heal just like any other part of our body. Thank you so much for sharing what has worked for you guys. I’m gonna have to get a prickly pear cactus and a horsetail plant. Very cool. I had to laugh a little at your poor husband being experimented on, only because it reminded me of myself and all of the crazy things I try 😉

    Blessings to you my friend! Keep up the great work.

    Like

    • Yes, my poor hubby was quite the guinea pig, but he was as determined as me to find a solution. He feels the financial pressure of big bills (like possible dental bills), and was looking for a better way healthwise as well.

      I’m so glad if our experience can bless you, and hopefully help you find a solution for your own teeth issues.

      And thank you for the opportunity to connect with so many others on your Barn Hop every week. 🙂

      Like

  5. Thanks for posting this, I have been thinking of making my own tooth powder.

    Also, do you do advertising or giveaways on your blog, I would be interested in it, send me an email.

    Blessings,

    Like

  6. Loved your articles. I am also one of those unfortunate people with a mouth full of mercury fillings. So am sure I will be facing these problems in the future.

    I also make my own tooth paste. I use baking soda and salt also, but I add ground cinnamon and cloves to it. It does make it brown, but it tastes better and has the added anti-inflamatory, antiseptic benefits.

    Like

    • I love your idea about adding cinnamon and cloves to the tooth powder. I am going to try it.

      As was mentioned in another comment, those mercury fillings are bad news (mercury poisoning), and even worse if they break out or are removed incorrectly. Hope all goes well with you when the time comes to deal with them.

      Like

  7. There is a lot in nature and in our own kitchens that can help with things like that.

    I have a planters wart. I’ve only had this one wart. I’ve had it froze twice. Well walking on a HUGE blister hurts worse then the wart. It still wouldn’t go away. Then I read online that Apple Cinder Vinegar burns it naturally off. I’ve been trying it and it seems to be helping. It doesn’t form a big blister either!

    http://theapels.blogspot.com/2012/10/hawk.html

    Like

  8. Hi. Full disclosure here: I’m a dental hygienist and have worked in the dental field for 40 years. I started out as an assistant at 16. We certainly don’t have all the answers! My concern is that you are treating the symptoms but not treating the cause. You can keep the infection under control and be fairly comfortable with a low grade infection but it will eventually flair up again. If the filling has come out, or if the nerve has been exposed or if the tooth is cracked then there will be a continual problem. I wish you the best. I am very interested in your final result.

    Like

    • I appreciate your input. Dentists generally believe that cracks and cavities cannot heal, but I have studied several other sources that declare they can heal if we give our body the proper components to allow that to happen. I believe that would be consistent with our Creator’s design otherwise, and want to give it a try. It is possible that we will still end up needing the help of a dentist, and I am thankful that we have that option.

      Like

  9. Baking soda as well as salt is HIGHLY abrasive. You are causing your gums to shrink back (gum recession) Once they do this, they don’t grow back. If they are exposed to the repeated trauma of abrasive agents and or/hard brushing with or without a hard toothbrush the gums will continue to receed exposing the beginning of the root of the tooth. When this happens the tooth becomes extremely sensitive to cold and stimuli (shooting pain corrected only by gingival tissue grafts) The other thing you are doing is abrading your enamel. When you wear it down, you make yourself prone to sensitivity as well as turning your teeth yellow by brushing away the white enamel and exposing the yellow dentin. As a dental hygienist, myself and dentists I work with never recommend using baking soda toothpastes, commercial or otherwise. If you are insistent on making your own toothpaste, why not take a look at the ingredients on the back of a fluoride free toothpaste by Tom’s of Maine. They’re toothpaste is smooth and creamy by the way, no abrasives.

    Like

    • Thank you for sharing your concerns as a hygienist. It is important to see the whole picture, which can be challenging for those of us who are not experts. I am sharing what has worked for us so far, having learned from others who have training and experience in these areas. I am not an expert and nothing I say should be substituted for medical or dental professional care. In our family we use only soft toothbrushes and encourage gentle brushing, but what you have pointed out about abrasives should be considered and checked into.

      Like

    • Thank you for letting me know about the link. I checked it and it is working for me right now. Perhaps the website was down temporarily? Please let me know if you still cannot access it.

      Like

  10. I have had great success remineralizing a few weak spots in my teeth using a homemade tooth powder containing myrrh gum powder and bentonite clay, also with baking soda and essential oils. There is something in myrrh and bentonite that helps remineralize (gee, maybe it’s silicon; haven’t bothered to check), and I can literally SEE the difference. Of course, it’s a bit “muddy,” and makes me rinse more than I normally would, but it’s probably better to rinse more than three times anyway.
    I also must tout the benefits of oil pulling. I actually had some receded gums regrow after oil pulling regularly for about a month, and I didn’t even use any essential oils in my coconut oil pull.
    Also, I’ve read that horsetail is especially good at pulling toxins from the soils where it grows (similar to how rice pulls arsenic from soil). As it grows best along waterlines, just be cautious of where it’s planted and what is in the water/washout.
    This was a VERY interesting series–I hope he is healing well and that the tooth remineralizes and doesn’t need further “professional” intervention. I would never have thought to pack garlic in there–do you use a fresh clove? part of one/whole one? Any recommendations for those of us that don’t have prickly pear readily available?
    THANKS!

    Like

    • Thank you so much for stopping to share your experiences with your tooth powder and oil pulling. I will have to try that for my receding gums.

      So far Silver Oak has had no more problems with that tooth…thank the Lord!

      For the garlic, yes, we used fresh cloves. I crushed the whole thing and used as much as needed to pack the tooth, then kept the rest in the fridge for the next time. I did around one whole clove each day.

      For prickly pear, I would recommend buying a plant and growing some. It supposedly can grow almost anywhere. To replace it, I’m not sure. I would probably try any other poultice that draws, as long as it wouldn’t irritate the skin on your face and neck. I’m not sure what else you could place inside your cheek…unless you would partially chew leaves of any herb that has drawing properties and hold it in your cheek in the same way. I’m sure there are other ways, as God has made so many varieties that are useful for healing. Anyone have more ideas?

      Like

  11. Rose Petal great article and you never know when we won’t have things like toothpaste available for those of us that still use it. I may try your routine to see if I am happier with my teeth I have been fairly lucky and have very few cavities. Thanks so much for linking up to “The Ole’ Saturday Homesteading Trading Post” monthly blog hop!

    Like

  12. Thanks for your post! I have only had one filling in my life (recently) but now I have tons of “watch spots”. The irony is that we are healthier now than ever (we eat very clean). I’m wondering if it is using lemon juice more often (instead of vinegar) in cooking or seeing the dentist more often (I only went a couple of times in my growing up years because my parents could not afford it). I am eager to try some more natural approaches to tooth care including building my enamel. The dentist I saw as a young person said my family had a “magical” (no he wasn’t wierd he just used the word to describe something dentists see occasionally but don’t have a name for) enzyme naturally occuring in my saliva (body chemistry good I suppose) that fought cavities so we never had them. My kids have bad teeth so I’m curious what the issue is (hubby’s genetics, unnatural tooth care?).

    Like

  13. Thanks for sharing all this. I started using bentonite clay about 2 months ago in place of toothpaste. I had been using baking soda but found it too abrasive. I make the clay more palatable by adding a few drops of spearmint oil then mixing it well and letting it dry out again. This would probably work with baking soda too.

    I’m not sure yet how well the clay works but my teeth feel smooth and clean after using it – I use it with an electric tooth brush.

    A dental hygienist showed me the most effective way to floss: run the floss down the side of each tooth 5 times ensuring that you get BETWEEN the gum and the tooth on each side. She said this helps prevent gingivitis better than anything else. Previously I had just been running the floss up and down between the teeth and not going down beside the gums.

    Like

    • Thank you for sharing the helpful tips about flossing. We can’t be too careful about being thorough in this area. I have heard of others using bentonite clay as well, but haven’t tried it yet.

      I have learned some things about using baking soda and salt, thanks to the comments of others. I did a little more study and found evidence that it is too abrasive to brush with. We now use that for swishing and use a drop of peppermint oil on our toothbrushes for brushing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

