My Super-duper Hand Powered Grain Mill

The GrainMaker® grain mill

I want you to meet my new friend…a wonderful hand-powered GrainMaker® grain mill!  In our quest to be self-reliant I started searching about two years ago for the perfect hand powered grain mill to meet the needs of a family our size. 

After a few months researching, comparing, and praying for wisdom, the search narrowed to about three possibilities.  I made phone calls and did more comparing.

It couldn’t be just any hand powered mill.  We often need 10 cups of flour at once, so it had to be efficient and able to grind wheat berries, corn, rice and other grains in a relatively short period of time.  I knew that if only adults could handle it, it wouldn’t work for us.  Our children had to be able to operate it.

We needed a mill that would stand the test of time and hard use, and be designed to grind animal feed when necessary.  I also wanted it to produce very fine flour, like my Whisper Mill does. 

Our five-year old has to struggle on fine settings, but he loves the challenge

The mill that best fit the bill was the GrainMaker®, hand-crafted from welded steel with life-time guaranteed machined alloy steel (vs. cast) 5” burrs.  It has a rotating handle on an extended bar with a fly wheel that can be used with a gas motor or bicycle power.  Included is a second auger designed to break large or hard grains (animal feed!) and coffee or nuts (peanut butter!).   It is produced by a home-educating, believing family in Montana.

I had looked hard at the Diamant for a few years, but the price was out of sight.  The GrainMaker® is much more affordable and has full life-time warranty.  The Country Living mill is a little cheaper than the GrainMaker®, but its burrs are smaller and slower with only a one year warranty, and it was uncertain whether children could operate it.  Lehmans’ best mill grinds very fine flour, but the burrs are not as superior and it is difficult for children to handle.

For a year I saved pennies and was finally able to order my GrainMaker® right before the price was raised because of increased steel prices.  It arrived just before we moved, so we only recently unpacked it.

I must say I am quite tickled so far.  We have ground very fine flour and the children love taking turns grinding.  After about 60 seconds of intense grinding we trade off.  Great exercise!  Even our youngest who is five enjoys a turn, although he fights the handle all the way around on a fine setting (the most difficult).

Just so you know, I do NOT get anything for sales, but I hope to become an affiliate when they make that an option.  I’m happy my search is over, and I now have a valuable heirloom quality hand powered mill to pass on to our children.

It's hard work for our 10 year old, but she can do it!

Second Leg of the Trailer’s Journey

P.S. Great news!!  Yesterday we closed on a 20 acre property out in the boonies!  Lord willing, it will become our new homestead!  Later I’ll be posting more on that  and how God worked it all out.

Linked with Homestead Revival

Homemade Probiotics, Part Two

7 thoughts on “My Super-duper Hand Powered Grain Mill

  1. Wow this is such a great post. I have been thinking hard about starting to grind our own grain. I have been doing some research and your article was great. Do you have any recipes for your bread on your site? I have been told you have to change the water amount when using fresh ground flour?

    Like

    • Georgia, I do not have my recipe posted, and actually, since we have been staying away from so much wheat and yeast for health reasons, I rarely use my recipe anymore. We eat a lot of cornbread using organic cornmeal (avoiding GMO’s). It has been so many years since I have used anything but my own freshly ground wheat flour that I forget such adjustments. But adjusting water should be relatively easy. If you are accustomed to the proper moisture of the dough you simply add water till it’s the right consistency, same as you do with pre-ground flour. Thanks for checking in!

      Like

  2. So how much is the thing? Does it have to be anchored down on something? I am planning on selling my whispermill also, because my Blentertec does the grinding very well. I can’t say I am ready to depart from electricity though. That makes me feel tired. :).
    Sue

    Like

    • Hello Sue, I paid around $450 for mine, which included the optional clamp for anchoring it down. The other option is bolting it down permanently. The price has increased quite a bit recently because of increasing steel costs. Thanks for checking in.

      Like

Leave a Reply

